Beware of The Links You Open on Facebook. Don’t Get Hacked!

2
Lately, we’ve been seeing a lot of status updates on some Facebook users’ accounts where the owners of the accounts don’t even know when or how the post even got on their timeline. The point here is – the account has been hacked. So, someone somewhere is sharing posts, links and updates on their timeline without their consent. Simple.

How they get Login Details

The culprits responsible for this use various means of getting your Facebook details and once they get that, the rest is the automation of their dirty posts on your wall. The common trick they use is by sharing an enticing post that you may likely click like a post to watch a funny video, or their big winner, Pornography (permit me to say). The hackers share such posts in Facebook groups with a lot of members. People who are interested in such rated stuff are the most victims. One thing about such trick is, you can’t get hacked if you’re not looking for / interested in such posts. So, it’s valid to say They know what you want.

A victim was able to remember the last link he had visited before he got hacked. He clicked on a link to watch a video outside of Facebook. On getting to the page, there is usually a link to download the video. When you click on the link, it takes you another page which looks like the Facebook Login Page where you’re required to enter your Facebook details and guess what. If you mistakenly enter your details in there, you just gave them your details Free of Charge.

How to Avoid Getting Hacked

==>  Always take note of the URL of the link you wish to visit.

==>  When you arrive on the destination page, always check if the page redirects to another url. for example if you click on a link pointing to Website A, check if it takes you to Website A or you find yourself on Website B. You should be careful about this cos it might just be a way to direct you to a malicious site.

==>  If there’s a link to download a file, and it takes you to a page that requires login, always check the URL of that page in your browser to know if the link is real or fake. An example is shown in the image below where a link is cloned to look like the Facebook login page. It is sad to say some users fall for it cos of the close resemblance. But if you check the url closely, you’ll see what the link actually is. In this example, the fake page is an unsecured wapka page while the real facebook page uses an encrypted link security. Leaving the security aside, you can plainly see the difference between the 2 links.

It is advisable to view links on external browsers. You can install a different browser for viewing links only. Don’t log on to any service on that special browser.

==>  If you’re on PC and wish to click on a link, try to know the destination.You can copy the destination url by Right-Clicking the link in order to obtain the destination address. You can also get this quickly by hovering on the link so the destination shows on the bottom left corner of the browser. If the link is shortened, make sure you unshorten it before you proceed. There was also a report of a hack site which used the Gmail interface. these guys work in similar ways. Just make sure you know the links you click, and where you enter your details. Facebook and Gmail don’t just ask for your email and password this way.

==>  If you’re on a shared computer, do not allow the browser to save or remember your login details. Do not tick the ‘Remember me‘option.

How to Get Back Your Hacked Account

==>  Change your password as soon as possible.

==>  Check the sites you have granted permission to post on your behalf and revoke permission. 

Share.

About Author

2 Comments

Leave A Reply